Is there an extension on license plate stickers in Illinois 2021?
Illinois Secretary of State Jesse White announced that expiration dates for driver’s licenses and ID cards have been extended an additional five months — from Aug. 1, 2021, to Jan. 1, 2022.
Is Illinois sending out license plate renewals?
Secretary of State Jesse White’s office announced that it has suspended the mailing of vehicle registration renewal reminder notices. The change means vehicle owners will now have to remember when their license stickers are up for renewal.
Is there a grace period for expired license plate sticker in Illinois 2021?
Driver’s license and ID card expiration dates had previously been extended to August 1, 2021. Now, expired driver’s licenses and ID cards will remain valid until Jan. 1, 2022. The extension does not apply to commercial driver’s licenses (CDL) and CDL learner’s permits.
Is there a grace period for expired plates in Illinois?
The receipt, which is generated after an online sticker purchase, is valid for no more than 30 days from the expiration of the previous license plate registration sticker’s date. …
What happens if you drive with expired tags Illinois?
In Will County or anywhere in Illinois, the penalty for driving with expired registration is a $90 fine. Additionally, a person renewing their registration over 30 days late will be assessed a $20 late registration fee.
What happens if you don’t renew your license plate sticker in Illinois?
If you forget to renew your Illinois plate sticker before it expires, you risk having to pay a $20 late fee. In some instances, you can have a judge waive the fee if you show up to your court date with proof that you’ve renewed your registration.
Can I renew my license plate without a renewal notice in Illinois?
Renewal without Notice In person – Visit your nearest Secretary of State facility. Currency exchanges and participating banks also process registration renewals, and some will accept last year’s registration card in lieu of the renewal form.
What is the late fee for license plate renewal in Illinois?
What is the Late Fee for Vehicle Registration in Illinois? If you forget to renew your Illinois plate sticker before it expires, you risk having to pay a $20 late fee.
Can I renew my IL license plate sticker online?
Can I still renew online? Yes. Customers who renew their stickers online are encouraged to print their receipt and keep that in the car with them until their new sticker arrives.
How much is a ticket for expired plate sticker in Illinois?
If you forget to renew your Illinois plate sticker before it expires, you risk having to pay a $20 late fee. Although $20 might not be cause for much concern, that’s not the only penalty that you can incur for expired tags.
What happens if you don’t renew your registration Illinois?
What are the new license plate fee in Illinois?
Learn How to Renew License Plate Tags. The fee for a non-personalized standard license plate is $101. This the actually the fee to register your car in Illinois, as you are issued a license plate at the time of registration.
Where is Il SOS office?
Executive offices of the Secretary of State are located at Room 213, Capitol Building, Springfield, Illinois, 62756 and Suite 5-400, 100 W. Randolph, Chicago, Illinois 60601.
How do I renew my Illinois license?
To renew an IL driver’s license, you can either: Log on to the Illinois Secretary of State(SOS) website and pay the renewal fee according to your age group. Mail in your driver’s license renewal notice. Call the SOS and follow your notice instruction to renew by phone. OR
How often do Illinois drivers license expire?
The Illinois drivers license renewal rules vary depending on your age. The expiration date of your license depends on your age. If you are under 21 years of age, your license expires 3 months after your 21st birthday. If you are between 21 and 80 years of age, your license expires every 4 years.