Categories :

What are the periods of literature?

What are the periods of literature?

It can be divided into five major periods, each of which has unique characteristics, notable authors, and representative works.

  • The Colonial and Early National Period (17th century to 1830)
  • The Romantic Period (1830 to 1870)
  • Realism and Naturalism (1870 to 1910)
  • The Modernist Period (1910 to 1945)

What are the eras in English literature?

The most important 8 periods of English Literature are:

  • Old English (Anglo-Saxon Period): 450–1066.
  • Middle English Period: 1066-1500.
  • The Renaissance: 1500-1600.
  • The Neoclassical Period: 1600-1785.
  • The Romantic Period: 1785-1832.
  • The Victorian Age: 1832-1901.
  • The Edwardian Period: 1901-1914.
  • The Georgian Period: 1910-1936.

What does literary era mean?

Literary periods are spans of time for literature that shares intellectual, linguistic, religious, and artistic influences. The following links, organized by literary period, are to the library’s catalog for works by author, title, literary movement, type of work, etc.

What are the 8 major periods of literature?

World Literature Periods

  • ROMANTIC PERIOD (c. 1790-1830)
  • VICTORIAN PERIOD And The 19th Century (c. 1832-1901)
  • MODERN PERIOD (c. 1914-1945)
  • POSTMODERN PERIOD (c. 1945 onward)

Who is the mother of English literature?

Her works have been translated into more than 50 languages….

Virginia Woolf
Woolf in 1902
Born Adeline Virginia Stephen25 January 1882 South Kensington, London, England
Died 28 March 1941 (aged 59) Lewes, East Sussex, England
Occupation Novelist essayist publisher critic

What are changes in literature during the 21st century?

Here’s another difference of 21st century literature, modernists would be more in lines of free verse, no set rhyme scheme, or format unlike conventional writers. Ancient literature, if that’s what you mean by traditional literature, was predominantly oral, didactic and mythical, full of romanticism and idealism.

What are literary trends?

Therefore, a literary trend is something by which an author adheres to (in regards to form, ideologies, themes, and expressions) which mirrors the general course (or prevailing idea) of the time period in which they are writing.

Who is the father of American literature?

Twain was born shortly after a visit by Halley’s Comet, and he predicted that he would “go out with it”, too. He died the day after the comet returned. He was lauded as the “greatest American humorist of his age,” and William Faulkner called Twain “the father of American literature.”

What are the different literary periods in European literature?

Realism/Naturalism: 1850-1914. Victorian Period: 1832- 1901. Modernism: 1870’s – 1965. Post-Modernism: 1965- Present.

What are the classifications of literature?

Some current genres are the novel, short story, essay, epic, tragedy, comedy, satire, and lyric. Additionally, books that strive to prove a point or make an argument can be called polemical books or polemics, whether fiction or non-fiction. Another major genre of literature is drama, which has its own sub-categories.

What era in English literature is the most important?

Victorian Age (1837-1901) – The Victorian era was one of the most important eras in the History of English Literature. Queen Victoria, at the age of 18 ruled England continuously for 64 years until her death.

What are the periods of American literature?

American literature is often divided into five major periods: The Colonial and Early National period (17th century to 1830) The Romantic period (1830 to 1870) Realism and Naturalism (1870 to 1910) The Modernist period (1910 to 1945)

What is the modern era in literature?

The Modern Age in English Literature started from the beginning of the twentieth century, and it followed the Victorian Age. The most important characteristic of Modern Literature is that it is opposed to the general attitude to life and its problems adopted by the Victorian writers and the public, which may be termed ‘Victorian’.

What are the periods of British literature?

Periods of British Literature: 450-1066: Old English (or Anglo-Saxon) Period In addition, the English Literary Renaissance consists of four subsets: The The Commonwealth Period, also known as the Puritan Interregnum , of English During the Age of Sensibility, literature reflected the worldview of Enlightenment