Categories :

What horse won the Irish St Leger?

What horse won the Irish St Leger?

Sonnyboyliston claimed victory in the Irish St Leger to give Johnny Murtagh his first Classic win as a trainer. The 4-1 chance, winner of last month’s Ebor Handicap ridden again by Ben Coen, surged past Twilight Payment in the closing stages.

Who won the Irish St Leger?

19-year-old jockey Ben Coen rides first group 1 winner in Curragh classic. Johnny Murtagh was floored Sept. 11 after Ottoman Emperor finished last in the Cazoo St. Leger (G1) at Doncaster, but Sonnyboyliston picked him up off the canvas by delivering a knockout performance in the Comer Group International Irish St.

What horse won the St Leger today?


Position Horse Trainer
1 Hurricane Lane (IRE) Charlie Appleby
2 Mojo Star (IRE) Richard Hannon
3 The Mediterranean (IRE) Aidan O’Brien
4 Interpretation (IRE) Aidan O’Brien

Who won the St Leger in 1990?

214Th St Leger Stakes (Group 1)

Pos. (Draw) Horse / SP Trainer / Jockey RPR
1 (8) 0. Snurge (IRE) 7/2 T Quinn Paul Cole 126
ch c Ela-Mana-Mou (IRE) – Finlandia (FR) (Faraway Son)
Held up, headway 4f out, led over 2f out, pushed along and ran on well
2 (1) ¾ 0. Hellenic 2/1F W R Swinburn Sir Michael Stoute 122

Who won the St Leger 2021?

In the 101 years since the first running of the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe, no St Leger winner has followed up in Paris a few weeks later.

What date is the St Leger 2020?

September 12, 2020
2020 St Leger Stakes/Date

Who won St Leger 2021?

William Buick and Hurricane Lane storm to St Leger victory.

Who won Ledger 2020?

GALILEO CHROME stuck his neck out on the line to land the Pertemps St Leger! In a thrilling finish, Tom Marquand and Galileo Chrome battled on gamely to hold off the challenge of Berkshire Rocco. Full result of the Pertemps St Leger: 1st Galileo Chrome 4/1.

Who won Leger 2020?

Galileo Chrome
The 2020 St Leger was run behind closed doors, and in a tight finish Galileo Chrome made it four wins from four outings that season. It was a lucky spare ride for Tom Marquand, for the horse’s regular jockey was tested Covid-positive the day before the race and had to give up the mount.

Has a filly ever won the St Leger?

The first winner was an unnamed filly owned by the event’s organiser, the 2nd Marquess of Rockingham. The filly was later named Allabaculia. The title St Leger Stakes was decided at a dinner party held in 1776 at the Red Lion Inn located in the Market Place, Doncaster, to discuss the following year’s race.

What time is first race at St Leger?

St Leger Stakes/First event date

Why was Doncaster races abandoned today?

Doncaster officials have abandoned the rest of Friday’s races due to an injury sustained by Jouer Bresilien in the 2m3f novice handicap hurdle.

Who was the first winner of the Irish St Leger?

The Irish St Leger is run over the 14 furlongs. It was first run in 1915 and was won by La Paloma. As opposed to the English version, the Irish St Leger is eligible for geldings and also horses above three year old. It had been for the classic generation only until 1983. The form out of the race has gone on to be Melbourne Cup form.

How old do you have to be to run in the Irish St Leger?

The Irish St Leger is a Group 1 flat horse race in Ireland open to thoroughbreds aged three years or older.

How big is the Curragh race in Ireland?

It is run at the Curragh over a distance of 1 mile and 6 furlongs (2,816 metres), and it is scheduled to take place each year in September. It is Ireland’s equivalent of the St Leger Stakes, a famous race in England (although unlike the English race, it is open to both horses above age three and geldings ).