Categories :

What is the Wat Phra Dhammakaya movement?

What is the Wat Phra Dhammakaya movement?

The Dhammakaya tradition or Dhammakaya movement, sometimes spelled as Thammakaai movement, is a Thai Buddhist tradition founded by Luang Pu Sodh Candasaro in the early 20th century. It is associated with several temples descended from Wat Paknam Bhasicharoen in Bangkok.

Why was the Wat Phra Dhammakaya created?

Initially, the temple was founded as a meditation center, after Maechi Chandra and the just ordained monk Luang Por Dhammajayo could no longer accommodate the rising number of participants in activities at Wat Paknam Bhasicharoen. The center became an official temple in 1977.

When was Wat Phra Dhammakaya built?

Constructed on a huge plot of land (800 acres) in 1970, Wat Phra Dhammakaya has amassed more than 150 buildings during less than 50 years of existence, which now cover more than 320 hectares combined.

What kind of Buddhism is practiced in Thailand?

Theravada Buddhism
Practiced by more than 95% of the population, Theravada Buddhism is the official religion of Thailand and plays a key role in many aspects of Thai culture.

Which is the best description of the Brahma viharas?

The Brahma Viharas. The Four Immeasurables—Loving-kindness, Compassion, Sympathetic [Appreciative] Joy, and Equanimity—are the sublime expressions of love. They are also known as the Four Limitless Ones, The Four Sublime States, and the Brahmaviharas or Divine Abodes.

Which is the best way to do Brahmavihara meditation?

One of the principles of doing Brahmavihara meditation is that it’s best to start by summoning each of the Brahmaviharas toward someone who easily evokes the associated attitude, intentions, and feelings.

What are the four faces of love of Brahma?

Because the god Brahma is said to dwell (vihara) in these four forms of love, they are known as Brahmaviharas, translated in English as “divine abidings.” We all have the potential to abide in loving-kindness, compassion, appreciative joy, and equanimity.

Why are the four brahmaviharas called the four immeasurables?

When they radiate outward in all directions of the compass without limit, the four Brahmaviharas are called the “Four Immeasurables.” It is phenomenally transformative to be absorbed in the radiance of any of these four. Outside of meditation, the Brahmaviharas also grow as we begin to recognize and cultivate them in our ordinary life.