Categories :

Are there any doctors in Antarctica?

Are there any doctors in Antarctica?

In summer there are two doctors onsite; during winter there is one. Antarctic staff undertake specialised First Aid training, designed to support people in the field, on ship or on our research stations.

What does the British Antarctic Survey do?

British Antarctic Survey (BAS) delivers and enables world-leading interdisciplinary research in the Polar Regions.

Which university is the British Antarctic Survey linked to?

university city of Cambridge
The headquarters of the BAS are in the university city of Cambridge, on Madingley Road. This facility provides offices, laboratories and workshops to support the scientific and logistic activities in the Antarctic.

How many British Antarctic Survey scientists work in Antarctica in the summer?

Eighteen countries operate year-round scientific research stations on the continent and the surrounding islands and during summer (the UK’s winter) as many as 10,000 scientists and support staff work there, but only about 1000 in winter.

Can a doctor work in Antarctica?

As an Antarctic Medical Practitioner (AMP) you will provide complete generalist medical, surgical and emergency dental care for a remote community at an Australian Antarctic or sub-Antarctic station. AMPs also provide care during voyages and in Antarctic and sub-Antarctic field environments.

Who pays for the British Antarctic Survey?

Our funding The majority of this funding comes from NERC (Natural Environment Research Council) the leading funder of independent research, training and innovation in environmental science in the UK.

What do pilots do in Antarctica?

Pilots’ duties include all aspects of the aircraft operation except maintenance. This means loading, cleaning and refuelling aircraft as well as other housekeeping tasks around the research station. Twin Otter aircraft are operated by single crew with at least one other person with the pilot at all times.

Does the UK own Antarctica?

The British Antarctic Territory (BAT) is a sector of Antarctica claimed by the United Kingdom as one of its 14 British Overseas Territories, of which it is by far the largest by area….

British Antarctic Territory
Sovereign state United Kingdom
Territory 1908
Capital Rothera 67°34′06″S 68°07′33″W
Largest city Rothera