Categories :

What are the three factors of risk?

What are the three factors of risk?

The three types of internal risk factors are human factors, technological factors, and physical factors.

What are the three factors of disaster risk?

In disasters, there are three broad areas of risk to health: the hazard that can cause damage, exposure to the hazard and the vulnerability of the exposed population (see also Chapters 1.3 and 2.5) (1). Disaster research often strives to show that these risks affect morbidity, mortality or well- being in some way.

What does DRR mean?

Disaster Risk Reduction

What are the elements of disaster risk?

Exposure refers to the elements at risk from a natural or man-made hazard event. This could include: individuals; dwellings or households and communities; buildings and structures; public facilities and infrastructure assets; agricultural commodities; environmental assets; and business activity.

What disasters can occur in school or on the way to school?

Is Your School at Risk? A Look at Natural Disasters

  • Winter storms & extreme cold.
  • Extreme heat.
  • Wildfires.
  • House & building fires.
  • Thunderstorms & lightning.
  • Landslides & debris flow.

What are the five key components of effective disaster management?

The components of disaster management are as follows:

  • Preparedness.
  • Disastrous Impact.
  • Response.
  • Recovery.
  • Development.
  • Mitigation.

What are the DRR activities?

Specific activities include:

  • Community-based disaster risk management.
  • DRR policy and strategy.
  • Disaster preparedness and emergency response.
  • Early warning systems.
  • Infrastructure support.
  • Multi-hazard risk assessments.
  • Planned relocation.
  • Resilient livelihoods development.

What factors determine the effectiveness of warning systems?

The effectiveness of a warning depends on:

  • The timeliness of the warning.
  • Effective communications and public information systems to inform the public of the imminent danger.
  • The credibility of the sources from which the warning came.

What is the basic concept of disaster and disaster risk?

1.2 Disaster Risk Disaster Risk is defined as “the potential loss of life, injury, or destroyed or damaged assets which could occur to a system, society or a community in a specific period of time, determined probabilistically as a function of hazard, exposure, and capacity”(UNDRR)  In the technical sense, it is …

What are the four phases of disaster management?

Emergency managers think of disasters as recurring events with four phases: Mitigation, Preparedness, Response, and Recovery. The following diagram illustrates the relationship of the four phases of emergency management.

What are the four aspects of Drrm?

The NDRRMP covers four thematic areas, namely, (1) Disaster Prevention and Mitigation; (2) Disaster Preparedness; (3) Disaster Response; and (4) Disaster Rehabilitation and Recovery, which correspond to the structure of the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC).

What are the needs to support DRR activities?


  • Identification and measuring disaster risk.
  • Education and knowledge development.
  • Informing people about their risk (awareness raising)
  • Incorporating DRM into national planning and investment.
  • Strengthening institutional and legislative arrangements.

What are the Drrm activities in school?

The DRRM Team and Coordinator are expected to: ensure the establishment of an early warning system for the school, conduct an annual student-led risk identification and mapping within and around the school premises, plan and implement disaster preparedness measures, maintain the safekeeping of vital school records and …

What are the 3 pillars of school Drrm?

In accordance with this thrust, DepEd has created the Comprehensive DRRM in Basic Education Framework, which underscores the following three pillars or areas of focus: 1) Safe Learning Facilities; 2) School Disaster Management; 3) DRR in Education.

What are the four goals of Cbdrm?

CBDRM approach covers prevention and mitigation, preparedness, emergency response and recovery. The key aspect of community involvement is the sustainability of community level initiatives for disaster reduction.

What are the key components of DRRR and management?

There are mainly four components of DRR. They are: Mitigation….1. Mitigation:

  • Mitigation refers to the action that are to be taken before the occurrence of an event.
  • Mitigation phase is for reducing the overall risk and impacts.
  • Vulnerability assessment.
  • Risk assessment.
  • Hazard assessment.

What is the basic concept of hazard?

The meaning of the word hazard can be confusing. There are many definitions for hazard but the most common definition when talking about workplace health and safety is: A hazard is any source of potential damage, harm or adverse health effects on something or someone.

What is the key concepts of disaster risk reduction?

Disaster risk reduction (also referred to as just disaster reduction) is defined as the concept and practice of reducing disaster risks through systematic efforts to analyse and manage the causal factors of disasters, including through reduced exposure to hazards, lessened vulnerability of people and property, wise …

What is meant by disaster preparedness?

Disaster preparedness refers to measures taken to prepare for and reduce the effects of disasters. That is, to predict and—where possible—prevent them, mitigate their impact on vulnerable populations, and respond to and effectively cope with their consequences.