Categories :

What does the Department of Justice include?

What does the Department of Justice include?

The mission of the Office of the Attorney General is to supervise and direct the administration and operation of the Department of Justice, including the Federal Bureau of Investigation, Drug Enforcement Administration, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, Bureau of Prisons, Office of Justice Programs.

What were the 4 original executive departments?

George Washington appointed the first executive department heads in 1789. They were the attorney general, secretary of state, secretary of treasury, and secretary of war.

Who is the Secretary of Justice 2020?

William Barr

How is the State Department organized?

The following publication provides an overview of the organization of the Department of State. Within the Executive Branch, the Department of State is the lead U.S. foreign affairs agency, and the Secretary of State is the President’s principal foreign policy adviser. …

How many executive agencies are there?

15 executive departments

Are state seals copyrighted?

U.S. State Department seals, the U.S. Great Seal, logos, and other official insignia may not be used or reproduced without written permission. Use of the Great Seal of the United States is governed by Public Law 91-651, Title 18 of the United States Code.

What is the oldest Cabinet department?


Department Creation Order of succession
State 1789 1
Treasury 1789 2
Defense 1947 3
Justice 1870 4

How many employees does the US State Department have?

13,885 employees

Which executive department is the newest?


Why is the State Department called Foggy Bottom?

Foggy Bottom is thought to have received its name due to an atmospheric quirk of its low lying, marshy riverside location, which made it susceptible to concentrations of fog, and later, industrial smoke.

What are the major functions of the four agencies of the Department of Justice?

“To enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; and to ensure fair and impartial …

Who is above the Secretary of State?

As the highest-ranking member of the cabinet, the secretary of state is the third-highest official of the executive branch of the U.S. federal government, after the president and vice president, and is fourth in line to succeed the presidency, after the vice president, the speaker of the House of Representatives, and …

Is the FBI above CIA?

Unlike the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), which is a domestic security service, the CIA has no law enforcement function and is officially mainly focused on overseas intelligence gathering, with only limited domestic intelligence collection….Central Intelligence Agency.

Agency overview
Annual budget $15 billion (as of 2013)

Why is it called the State Department?

On September 15, 1789, Congress passed An Act to provide for the safe keeping of the Acts, Records, and Seal of the United States, and for other purposes. This law changed the name of the Department of Foreign Affairs to the Department of State because certain domestic duties were assigned to the agency.

What were the first 3 executive departments?

In 1789 Congress created three Executive Departments: Foreign Affairs (later in the same year renamed State), Treasury, and War. It also provided for an Attorney General and a Postmaster General. Domestic matters were apportioned by Congress among these departments.

How are executive departments created?

Executive agencies are created by the president, while legislative agencies are established by an act of Congress. One of the main differences between an executive agency and a legislative agency is that the president may remove the head of an executive agency at any time with or without cause.

Who does the DOJ work for?

The Department of Justice – or “DOJ” – is the agency responsible for enforcing the federal law of the United States. The Attorney General of the United States – appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate – heads the DOJ with its more than 100,000 attorneys, special agents, and other staff.

What agencies are under the State Department?

Related Agency

  • Arms Control and International Security.
  • U.S. Mission to the United Nations.
  • Bureau of Consular Affairs.
  • Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.
  • Political Affairs.
  • Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs.

What is the role of the State Department?

The US Department of State functions as the diplomatic wing of the federal government, handling matters of foreign affairs with other nations and international bodies. The State Department’s primary job is to promote American foreign policy throughout the world.

What does State Department mean?

: the part of the U.S. government that is responsible for how the U.S. deals with other countries.

Who is the head of the Justice Department?

The department is headed by the U.S. Attorney General, who is nominated by the president and confirmed by the Senate and is a member of the Cabinet. On December 23, 2020, following the resignation of William Barr as attorney general, Jeffrey Rosen became the acting attorney general.

Who is the current DOJ?

Merrick Garland

Is FBI under DOJ?

Within the U.S. Department of Justice, the FBI is responsible to the attorney general, and it reports its findings to U.S. Attorneys across the country. The FBI’s intelligence activities are overseen by the Director of National Intelligence.

Which is the oldest department in the executive branch?

Department of State

What are government departments?

A government department is a sector of the UK government that deals with a particular area of interest. Government departments are either ministerial or non-ministerial departments. Ministerial departments cover matters requiring direct political oversight, such as the Department for Transport or the Foreign Office.

What are the central government departments?


  • Indian Revenue Service.
  • Department of Disinvestment.
  • Department of Economic Affairs.
  • Department of Revenue.
  • Central Board of Excise and Customs.
  • Central Economic Intelligence Bureau.
  • Directorate General of Central Excise Intelligence.
  • Directorate General of Economic Enforcement.

What is a public body example?

A public body is generally thought of as an organisation that delivers a public service, is not a government department and operates to a greater or lesser extent at arm’s length from Ministers. The types of public bodies that have public appointments include: Non-ministerial departments e.g. the Charity Commission.