Categories :

Which country did the first Secretary-General of UN belong?

Which country did the first Secretary-General of UN belong?

—died Dec. 30, 1968, Geilo), Norwegian politician and diplomat, the first secretary-general of the United Nations (1946–52), who resigned largely because of the Soviet Union’s resentment of his support of UN military intervention in the Korean War.

Who is the first present Secretary-General of UNO?

Trygve Lie

Secretary-General of the United Nations
Constituting instrument United Nations Charter
Inaugural holder Gladwyn Jebb as acting Secretary-General (24 October 1945) Trygve Lie as first Secretary-General (2 February 1946)
Formation 24 October 1945
Deputy Deputy Secretary-General

Who is the present Secretary-General of the United Nations which country does he belong to?

Guterres was elected to the Portuguese Parliament in 1976 where he served as a member for 17 years.

Which country is the head of UNO?

The Secretary-General is appointed by the General Assembly on the recommendation of the Security Council for a 5-year, renewable term. The current Secretary-General, and the 9th occupant of the post, is António Guterres of Portugal, who took office on 1 January 2017.

Who gave the UN name?

President Franklin D. Roosevelt
1942: The Declaration by United Nations The name ‘United Nations’ was coined by United States President Franklin D. Roosevelt.

Who was the first secretary of India?

Secretary of State for India
Formation 2 August 1858
First holder Lord Stanley
Final holder The 5th Earl of Listowel
Abolished 14 August 1947

Who is the current president of UN?

Abdulla Shahid is the current president since 14 September 2021….List of presidents.

Year elected 2016
Name of President Peter Thomson
UN member state Fiji
Region Asia-Pacific
Sessions Seventy-first (election)

Who is the Secretary-General of WHO?

World Health Organization

Legal status Active
Headquarters Geneva, Switzerland
Head Tedros Adhanom (Director-General)
Parent organization United Nations Economic and Social Council
Budget $7.96 billion (2020–2021)

Who is the current security of UNO?

The Security Council consists of fifteen members, of which five are permanent: the People’s Republic of China, the French Republic, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the United States of America….United Nations Security Council.

UN Security Council Chamber in New York

Who will be the next UN secretary-general in 2021?

Antonio Guterres
Incumbent Antonio Guterres was the only official candidate for the position. On June 8, 2021, Guterres was unanimously recommended by the United Nations Security Council (SC) for a second term at the helm of the organisation.

What was the original name of the United Nations?

the League of Nations
The predecessor of the United Nations, the League of Nations, was conceived after World War I, and established in 1919 under the Treaty of Versailles “to promote international cooperation and to achieve peace and security.” The International Labour Organization, which is also now a UN specialized agency, was created …